GUJARATI

PAPER I
(Answers must be written in Gujarati)
Section A
Gujarati Language : Form and History
(1) History of Gujarati Language with special reference to New Indo-Aryan i.e. last one thousand years.
(2) Significant features of the Gujarati language: phonology, morphology and syntax. (3) Major dialects: Surtine pattani, charotari and Saurashtri.
History of Gujarati literature
Medieval :
4. Jaina tradition
5. Bhakti tradition : Sagun and Nirgun (Jnanmargi)
6. Non-sectarian tradition (Laukik parampara)
Modern :
7. Sudharak yug
8. Pandit yug
9 Gandhi yug

10. Anu-Gandhi yug
11. Adhunik yug
Section B
Literary Forms : (Salient features, history and development of the following literary forms
Government strives to have a workforce which reflects gender balance and women candidates are encouraged to apply
(a) Medieval
1. Narratives : Rasa, Akhyan and Padyavarta
2. Lyrical: Pada
(b) Folk
3. Bhavai
(c) Modern
4. Fiction : Novel and Short Story
5. Drama
6. Literary Essay
7. Lyrical Poetry
(d) Criticism
8. History of theoretical Gujarati criticism
9. Recent research in folk tradition.

PAPER II
(Answers must be written in Gujarati)
The paper will require first-hand reading of the texts prescribed and will be designed to test the critical ability of the candidate.
Section A
1. Medieval
(i) Vasantvilas phagu—AJNATKRUT
(ii) Kadambari—BHALAN
(iii) Sudamacharitra—PREMANAND
(iv) Chandrachandravatini varta—SHAMAL
(v) Akhegeeta—AKHO
Sudharakyug & Pandityug (vi) Mari Hakikat—NARMADASHA
(vii) Farbasveerah—DALPATRAM
(viii) Saraswatichandra-Part 1—GOVARDHANRAM TRIPATHI

(ix) Purvalap—'KANT' (MANISHANKAR RATNAJI BHATT)
(x) Raino Parvat—RAMANBHAI NEELKANTH
Section B
1. Gandhiyug & Anu Gandhiyug
(i) Hind Swaraj—MOHANDAS KARAMCHAND GANDHI
(ii) Patanni Prabhuta—KANHAIYALAL MUNSHI
(iii) Kavyani Shakti—RAMNARAYAN VISHWANATH PATHAK
(iv) Saurashtrani Rasdhar-Part 1—ZAVERCHAND MEGHANI
Government strives to have a workforce which reflects gender balance and women candidates are encouraged to apply
(v) Manvini Bhavai—PANNALAL PATEL
(vi) Dhvani—RAJENDRA SHAH
2. Adhunik yug
(vii) Saptapadi—UMASHANKAR JOSHI
(viii) Janantike—SURESH JOSHI

(ix) Ashwatthama—SITANSHU YASHASCHANDRA.