

To get free Live Classes, Materials Scan this QR Code & Download our Adda247 App



Daily Current Affairs Encyclopedia

06 December 2023

Telangana State Regional News

PVTGs of Telangana	 There are eight PVTGs in Telangana namely Chenchu, Gadaba, Kondh, Kolam, Konda Reddy, Konda Savara, Poroja, and Thoti. They are typically small and isolated communities, with populations ranging from a few hundred to a few thousand They are highly dependent on the natural environment for their livelihood, and they practice traditional forms of agriculture, hunting, and gathering. They live in remote and inaccessible areas, often in forests or hills. They have a unique and distinct culture and language. PVTGs are a special category of tribal communities in India identified by the government as facing exceptional hardship and marginalization.
Eighth Schedule of the Indian Constitution	Context: • The Eighth Schedule of the Indian Constitution is a list of 22 official languages of India. • It was originally included in the Constitution in 1950, with 15 languages. • Since then, seven languages have been added through amendments. • It gives these languages constitutional status and guarantees certain rights to their speakers • It remains a key part of India's linguistic landscape. These languages are: 1. Assamese 2. Bengali 3. Bodo 4. Dogri 5. Gujarati 6. Hindi 7. Kannada 8. Kashmiri 9. Konkani 10. Malayalam 11. Manipuri 12. Marathi 13. Nepali 14. Odia 15. Punjabi 16. Sanskrit 17. Santhali 18. Sindhi
	19. Tamil 20. Telugu 21. Urdu 22. Maithili



To get free Live Classes, Materials Scan this QR Code & Download our Adda247 App



Daily Current Affairs Encyclopedia

Birth of Telangana	 On 2 June 2014, the north-western districts of Andhra Pradesh were separated to form the new state of Telangana, with Hyderabad as its capital. The Telangana movement, which campaigned for a separate state for decades, was based on the feeling that the region was being neglected by the Andhra-dominated government The formation of Telangana from AP was achieved through the Andhra Pradesh Reorganisation Act, 2014. It defined their boundaries, addressed asset and liability distribution, and designated Hyderabad as Telangana's capital While the 98th Amendment Act of 2013 had paved the way for Telangana's creation by laying out the constitutional framework, it was the AP Reorganization Act, 2014 that formally split Andhra Pradesh into two distinct states.
Telangana Sex Ratio	 Telangana boasts a sex ratio of 988 females per 1000 males, indicating a near balance. This is slightly higher than the national average of 993 Rural areas fare better, with a ratio of 999, while urban areas lag at 950. Districts like Nirmal (1046) and Nizamabad (1044) shine with impressive numbers, while Hyderabad (950) and Rangareddy (954) fall below the state average. Social categories also show variations: Scheduled Castes (1008) have a higher ratio than Scheduled Tribes (977). Christians (1033) exhibit the highest ratio. The child sex ratio (0-6 years) paints a concerning picture at 932, indicating a potential bias against girls.
The Basic Structure Doctrine	 The Basic Structure Doctrine (BSD) is a cornerstone of Indian constitutional law. It posits that the Indian Constitution, while amendable, possesses an unalterable core, the "basic structure," which cannot be demolished or eroded even by constitutional amendments. This doctrine acts as a safety valve, preventing the elected legislature from transforming India into something fundamentally unrecognizable from its original vision. The BSD emerged in 1973 in the landmark Kesavananda Bharati case.

Copyright © by Adda247

All rights are reserved. No part of this document may be reproduced, stored in a retrieval system or transmitted in any form or by any means, electronic, mechanical, photocopying, recording or otherwise, without prior permission of Adda247.

2

